Early Patch Notes, Version 1.3.11 February 26th 2015
With today’s patch, we are pleased to announce that we are able to fully support extra languages, and you’ll notice that if you want to, you can now play Infinity Wars in Russian.
This has been a major milestone for us, Infinity Wars is actually quite popular in Russia, and we’ve been working with a Russian publisher to offer the game over there in their native language.
Now that we have this infrastructure in place, we can start to offer Infinity Wars in several more languages. You may notice something strange in the version number of this patch, it’s jumped straight past 1.3.0 and over to 1.3.11! The ‘lost version numbers’ are attributed to the testing and releases in Russia.
Other than Russian localization, our focus has been on fixing up various inconsistencies and bugs, especially with cards. Thank you for your reports, they help immensely!Version 1.3.11 NotesCard Notes
The new Death Ray alternate art, drawn by Ian Underwood, is now available to players who preordered Order!Client and General Bug Notes
- Humble can no longer target non character cards.
- The text on scramble has been changed to reflect its intended (and currently live) targets of deployed targets, not all characters in play.
- Splat can no longer incorrectly target the command zone with the damage portion of the ability.
- Summoner of the Deep can no longer incorrectly target a character that is already targeted by another sacrifice effect.
- Demonize no longer incorrectly retains any of the character previous buffs or keywords.
- Verore Channeler now properly activates when deployed, not at normal ability resolution.
- Overcharged Bot now properly activates when deployed, not at normal ability resolution.
- Best Fiends now properly activates when deployed, not at normal ability resolution.
- Updated Wealthy Noble’s text to show that he grants his effect when deployed.
- Tormented Thrall no longer trigger from sacrifice effects, as intended.
- Uncontrolled Rift should no longer have the possibility of giving cards which are still under development.
- Shikana’s flavor text no longer confuses the issue: she is officially female.
- If Shikana is not in play at end of the turn (either from dying or a card like Controlled Temporal Anomaly), her ability to destroy everything in play will now be cancelled properly.
- Reworked some funky interactions with Tome of the Dead so that it should be behaving more consistently. In particular, a desync error which was caused when two Tomes went off in the same turn is fixed.
- Fixed a bug which allowed Irial to be activated even if her controlled had 0 resources available.
- Fixed a bug where Rita, Mistress of Shadow wouldn’t allow herself to be activated unless you had 2 or more resources, although the ability only cost 1 resource.
- Humble now only properly targets characters.
- EMP Grenade should now properly says it targets the battlefield, rather than any deployed character, on all clients.
- Undeath Wish’s ability to kill a character and place it in your graveyard will now only place the character in your graveyard if the character actually dies. Additionally, the character will now properly go to your graveyard immediately, rather than at the end of turn.
- Ireul, Vanguard of Ruin’s ability now only activates on his first attack each turn, preventing a potentially endless loop with Ju-Lin.
- Updated Altar of Binding’s text to clarify that that Altar is destroyed if the targeted character leaves play (previously stated the battlefield), and being ‘bound’ only affects the character from being moved by the controlled (which does not include various effects which may move a character, such as Stumble)
- Reckless Abandon will now use the discarded card’s Exile cost if that cost will be lower than the cost Reckless Abandon gives it.
- Updated Infected Monk’s ability to more accurately reflect its effect. Additionally, Infected Monk’s ability will now no longer trigger if sacrificed (the wording changing to ‘if it is killed’ rather than ‘if it dies’), preventing several bugs and keeping consistent with other similar effects.
- Blood Crazed Initiate now properly uses the transform mechanics, and will now behave consistently with other transform effects, no longer retaining sub-types and other random elements of its old card.
- Defensive Perimeter should now have the correct text on all game clients.
- Infected Purifier now properly uses the transform mechanics, and will behave consistently with other transform effects. Previously it would count as a new character, incorrectly triggering effects such as Zombie Scavenger twice.
- Oblivion’s text now properly matches the effect, and doesn’t state that the character is spawned in the Assault Zone.
- Fixed some text issues with the Master and Apprentice screen.
- Fixed a layering issue with the Normal queue options menu and other menus
- Fixed a longstanding layering issue where card frames would render on top of all other elements of the UI in-game.
- Fixed an error where pressing ‘Enter’ when adding a friend would often fail. Also fixed an error which would allow you to enter an empty friend name.
- Fixed a bug which was causing cards to get stuck on the screen if you cancelled replacing a champion with another champion from the command zone.
- Fixed a bug when Splitter Bot died while under the control of a player other than its original owner (such as from Zuza), its tokens would behave unexpectedly.
- Fixed an issue where if Shikana was exhausted from another effect and you undid the choice to sacrifice a character, she would become unexhausted.
- Fixed a crash that would happen when two Phalanx Commanders were in the same zone.
- Fixed various text layering issues.
- Fixed a bug where actions that required input at the start of a turn would cause Exile characters not to play (such as targeting a card like Descension when played from Exile, or choosing a character to sacrifice to Shikana)
- If an Ascended character leaves play, that character will now properly reset to their original state, and lose any buffs from being Ascended.
- Fixed a layering conflict with text and Aleta, Immortal Tinkerer and Pack Leader.
- Fixed a bug where several ‘on-death’ triggers and replacements were circumvented if the morale cost of the card was modified (such as by Protector of the Dead)
- Docile Panda’s art should now be working properly on all clients.
- While browsing searching your deck for a specific subset of cards, the first card in the list should now reliably display.
- Fixed an exploit in Ranked that would allow players to exit out of a match without losing any ranked rating.
For now, weekly quests have been disabled until they can be fixed. There was a major glitch in the backend and we're working on fixing them as quickly as we can.
Updated matchmaking algorithms to be generally improved, particularly so that players don’t get matched against the same player in draft multiple times.
If an ability card resolves while it is removed from play, it will now go back to being removed from play, rather than going to the graveyard.Example
: Previously, if you cast a Mass Death, but an enemy cast Purify on a Mass Death in your graveyard (removing all your copies from the game), the Mass Death you just cast would be removed from the game. However, when your Mass Death then resolved it would go into your graveyard!
This begs the discussion however, why not make it so in that case the Mass Death does not resolve at all? After all, the Mass Death was preempted by the Purify. The rules branch into two options for us to choose as designers:
- Option 1: An ability card must still be in your hand when it resolves.
- Option 2: Once you play an ability card, it will resolve regardless of where it has been moved to.
In the case of the Mass Death example, we would be fine with Purify being used as a counter like that (that sounds cool!), and go with option 1. Unfortunately, that decision would end up being very disruptive to the game. For instance, an opposing Demonic Presence would completely counter any ability cards you played that turn, if your opponent had initiative. (We’re not so cool with that.)
Instead, we decided to go with the less disruptive option: if you play a card, it will be played even if another effect takes it out of your hand first.
However, we all agreed that if a card is removed from the game, it should go back to being removed from the game after resolution, and not into your graveyard, so we made that change.MASSIVE IMPORTANT DISCLAIMER: READ THIS
These notes are in no way final. This post will be deleted and replaced with the final notes once the patch comes out. At this point in time I do not have an ETA on when the patch will launch. I will however state in this thread once we know what date we're looking at, as well as update the OP with it.
Thank you everyone, and again, we greatly appreciate all the reports. It's incredibly helpful to have everyone reporting what they see to us.
See you on the battlefield!