Author Topic: Some assorted rules questions  (Read 1160 times)

Offline Berabouman

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 482
    • View Profile
Some assorted rules questions
« on: March 05, 2014, 03:43:48 AM »
1. If a card like Shikana, Who Demands Tribute dies to other causes than its sacrifice trigger, does it still trigger its effect and kill all characters in all combat zones? (I'm using Shikana as an example but there are other similar cards.)

2. If you Lightning Blast a Secluded Constructor (or any other creature for that matter) during your initiative and it dies, does your opponent still get to make use of its ability?

3. If you Suppress a Secluded Constructor, is the creature still sacrificed?

4. Currently, Ghost Knight can be sacrificed to Shikana indefinitely, even though Shikana's text doesn't say "target". Or is all sacrificing targeted? Basically is this is a bug or working as intended?

5. If you use Awaken, Raise Dead or some other means to return a Unique character from your graveyard when you already have another copy of that character in play, what happens?

Offline Erlaya

  • Lightmare Support
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
    • View Profile
Re: Some assorted rules questions
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2014, 05:29:47 AM »
1. If a card like Shikana, Who Demands Tribute dies to other causes than its sacrifice trigger, does it still trigger its effect and kill all characters in all combat zones? (I'm using Shikana as an example but there are other similar cards.)

2. If you Lightning Blast a Secluded Constructor (or any other creature for that matter) during your initiative and it dies, does your opponent still get to make use of its ability?

3. If you Suppress a Secluded Constructor, is the creature still sacrificed?

4. Currently, Ghost Knight can be sacrificed to Shikana indefinitely, even though Shikana's text doesn't say "target". Or is all sacrificing targeted? Basically is this is a bug or working as intended?

5. If you use Awaken, Raise Dead or some other means to return a Unique character from your graveyard when you already have another copy of that character in play, what happens?

1 - No
2 - No
3 - I don't know!
4 - I believe it is a bug
5 - You get two of that card

Offline Cthulhu Girl

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 288
  • Will bite if provoked
    • View Profile
    • Infinite Network
Re: Some assorted rules questions
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2014, 05:34:51 AM »
1. If a card like Shikana, Who Demands Tribute dies to other causes than its sacrifice trigger, does it still trigger its effect and kill all characters in all combat zones? (I'm using Shikana as an example but there are other similar cards.)

No, he doesn't fail his sacrifice ability because it doesn't go off.

2. If you Lightning Blast a Secluded Constructor (or any other creature for that matter) during your initiative and it dies, does your opponent still get to make use of its ability?

It's ability will no longer go off, because it's no longer in a position (the graveyard) to activate its ability.

3. If you Suppress a Secluded Constructor, is the creature still sacrificed?

Suppress negates the activated ability, so the sacrifice should no longer go off since the ability to which it is being sacrificed is no longer valid.

4. Currently, Ghost Knight can be sacrificed to Shikana indefinitely, even though Shikana's text doesn't say "target". Or is all sacrificing targeted? Basically is this is a bug or working as intended?

Though I don't know if this if officially a bug or not, I believe it is since there is an inconsistency: When sacrificing a creature to secluded constructor, it is not considered targeting and thus can't be blocked by Deflect which I have been told is correct behavior.

5. If you use Awaken, Raise Dead or some other means to return a Unique character from your graveyard when you already have another copy of that character in play, what happens?

The character will be raised from the graveyard and both copies will be in play at the same time. This also happens with Aletas when they raise from themselves from the graveyard after 6 turns if you've played another since their death. This has been confirmed as correct behavior.
Visit my YouTube channel for informative card and deck analysis videos, as well as highlights from my stream: https://www.youtube.com/user/CthulhuGirl00

Offline Berabouman

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 482
    • View Profile
Re: Some assorted rules questions
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2014, 04:06:41 PM »
Thanks for the replies! Seems like initiative is quite a game-breaker whether or not you have it...

Another question - do characters come into play before or after abilities? So if it is your initiative and you cast Yuanshi's Wrath, do your opponent's newly recruited characters also take damage or not?

Offline Cthulhu Girl

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 288
  • Will bite if provoked
    • View Profile
    • Infinite Network
Re: Some assorted rules questions
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2014, 04:19:44 PM »
do characters come into play before or after abilities? So if it is your initiative and you cast Yuanshi's Wrath, do your opponent's newly recruited characters also take damage or not?

Yes, characters come into play first. Then abilities go off. Then characters attack. Then any end of turn effects happen. All relevant effects have the person with turn priority go first. See http://www.infinitywarsgame.com/rulebook/rules/turn_order for a complete explanation.
Visit my YouTube channel for informative card and deck analysis videos, as well as highlights from my stream: https://www.youtube.com/user/CthulhuGirl00

Offline Vyltyx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 473
  • We are Legion.
    • View Profile
Re: Some assorted rules questions
« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2014, 11:06:45 PM »
Thanks for the replies! Seems like initiative is quite a game-breaker whether or not you have it...

Another question - do characters come into play before or after abilities? So if it is your initiative and you cast Yuanshi's Wrath, do your opponent's newly recruited characters also take damage or not?

Sometimes it's best to not have initiative. For instance, if you play yuanshi's wrath, and your opponent plays Call the Crusade, initiative determines whether or not you are going to get hit with 12 damage or not. If the enemy has initiative, their crusade happens first, summoning the aspirants. Your wrath then goes off, killing all of them. In the opposite case (you have initiative), your wrath goes off before Crusade, meaning they kind of "slipped by" your ability.

All the forces in the world are not so powerful as an idea whose time has come.

"NQQbz - It has it all!  Noobz, Boobz and QQ'ing.  I win the internet for today." — ChaosAngel

"You are probably going to end up quoting me in your sig.  Everyone else already has." — WWKnight

Offline DrayGon777

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2107
  • Friendly Neighborhood Dragon
    • View Profile
Re: Some assorted rules questions
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2014, 07:39:32 PM »
Would like to add that if a unique character is removed from play to later return on a following turn (I.E. Kidnapper), then that's another way to get multiples of a unique, and in some cases the only way (I.E. Ao Shun).
Just so you guys know, if you're ever vs WWK, just start putting out random numbers and mathematical symbols, he will surrender.