Author Topic: Riftrunner's Guide to the Galaxy  (Read 32566 times)

Offline MzudemX

• View Profile
Riftrunner's Guide to the Galaxy
« on: March 01, 2014, 08:42:49 PM »
Hello and welcome to the rift.

This my little guide for those who want to start and take on the challenge that awaits them in the rift of Infinity Wars.

I am by no means an Expert in this game. That said I still suck at it but I am getting better. That said I am not doing badly in the Rift (draft-mode) and that’s mainly because I have experience with drafts in other TCG's and a lot of the basic concepts of other TCG transfer to IW riftrunns.

What is a Riftrun?

A riftrun is drafting mode in witch you will get presented 4 random cards at a time to chose from.
You will start of by choosing your three commanders. These three commanders will like in constructed define the purity of your deck and therefor define witch cards are possible to chose from for your deck to be “legal”.
After you picked your commanders you go through 40 choices of 4 cards at a time to build your deck.

What is the differences between rift runs and constructed play?

In constructed other then in rift runs you try to build a perfect storm. You take your cards and put them in your deck like pics of a puzzle. In a rift run through the element of randomness you would not be able to create a perfect storm – you can try but the chances you will fail in that regard are huge.
On the other hand every other rifter has to face this and so everyone is on even ground.
The game will much more evolve about making good trades and getting small advantages over your opponent till your advantage is so overwhelming that finally pull through to the win. In short the player that makes the most of every single card will probably win.

Why do rift runs cost me IP?

Think of it like a poker tonier  where you have to pay first to get chips to play with. Then you sit down at poker table and play as long as you want or make through to the big prize.