Lightmare Community Forums

The IW Community => Community Events & Contests => Topic started by: Benionin on November 28, 2017, 03:11:11 AM

Title: [CDC] You Will Be Assimilated
Post by: Benionin on November 28, 2017, 03:11:11 AM
Greetings, Card design enthusiasts! This round of the CDC will be perhaps a bit different than others. As many of you may know, I'm a fan of the Star Trek promotional set, playing decks featuring its cards fairly regularly. There are particular Trek cards that I simply love, but have the unfortunate side effect of being, well, not legal in ranked or tournament play. As such, this challenge is to

Design a ranked-legal card based off of/inspired by a card or mechanic from the Star Trek promotional set

One example of a card that exists in the game that would fulfill this requirement is Leader of the Charge, who is essentially Riker except better because they are an overseer and can have flying (the original version didn't have to ascend but didn't gain flying, so that's a thing). Missions were also introduced in this set. A full list of the cards can be found here (

Your card can be based off of an individual card (like Riker) or based off of a mechanical idea (like stealing other players' characters). The exception to this is missions--while they were introduced in this set, if you design a mission you must connect it in some other way to the set other than the fact that it is a mission.

Judging will be based off of how appropriate your shift to a ranked-legal faction (or factionless) is--did you just dump the card in that faction, is that design better suited for another faction?--in addition to normal design considerations.

The contest will close on December 10th

--- Card Design Challenge Rules ---
1) The Judge appoints a challenge, it can be anything, making new card, redesigning an old one or whatever you wish.
2) All that wish to participate submit their card design. Each participant may only submit one entry per challenge, you may however edit your post as many times as you wish till the deadline.
3) If you edit your post you should make an additional post in this thread informing of the edit to make sure that the updated version of the card will be judged. The post should contain the full updated card details as well as a brief summary of what changed from your original submission.
4) After an announced deadline the Judge decides a winner. The winner then becomes the Judge for the next round.
5) All entries submitted before the deadline are guaranteed feedback, either in this thread or in another detailed feedback thread.

1st place: 3 alt art packs and 3 collection penta packs
2nd place: 2 alt art packs and 2 collection penta packs
3rd place: 1 alt art pack and 1 collection penta pack
All participants who submit an entry will receive a collection penta pack

Rules Text:
Flavor Text:
Title: Re: [CDC] You Will Be Assimilated
Post by: mew28 on November 28, 2017, 03:25:40 AM
Name: Bird of fire
Faction/Purity: FD 2
Type: Character 
Rarity: Rare
Cost: 3
Morale: 10
Attack/Health: 10/5
Rules Text: Flying
Pay one well deployed : Move bird of fire to the front of the assault zone and deal 4 damage to target character on the battlefield
Flavor Text: Rumored to have the power of over two hundred horses.
Title: Re: [CDC] You Will Be Assimilated
Post by: POOO on November 28, 2017, 03:39:28 AM
Name: Pacifist Monk
Faction/Purity: 3 DOD
Type: Unique Character
Rarity: Epic
Cost: 4
Morale: 5
Attack/Health: 0/2
Rules Text: If Pacifist Monk would enter combat with a character, both characters return to the support zone instead, if this happens Pacifist Monk becomes exhausted next turn.
Can't Attack
If Pacifist Monk would be killed it instead exhausts and moves to the support zone.
Flavor Text: "No one won the last war, and no one will win the next one."
Notes: Based off of star trek card Starfleet Ensign.
Title: Re: [CDC] You Will Be Assimilated
Post by: Benionin on November 28, 2017, 03:58:21 AM
It's worth noting that your entries do not have to be exact copies of the card its based off of.
Title: Re: [CDC] You Will Be Assimilated
Post by: mew28 on November 28, 2017, 04:03:16 AM
nerf on my card
Title: Re: [CDC] You Will Be Assimilated
Post by: Grinnin_Gin on November 28, 2017, 04:05:44 AM
Name: Parasitic Incubation Chamber
Faction/Purity: Sleepers, 1 Sleepers
Type: Artifact
Rarity: Rare
Cost: 2
Rules Text: Exhaust, pay 3 resources, and target a unit you control; This turn, if it hits the fortress, draw the top character of your opponent's deck and put it into play in your support zone during your end phase.
Flavor Text: Not all beings suffer the infection equally. Sometimes, the virus lies in wait for hours, days, before exploding into virulence, infecting those nearby as well who never suspected a thing.
Title: Re: [CDC] You Will Be Assimilated
Post by: Hiding on November 28, 2017, 05:34:58 AM
Inspired Experimenter
1p Exiles +1p Gi
4 cost
5 morale
Character- Human

When you deploy Inspired Experimenter, choose 3 possibilities:
-All Characters gain Consume 2
-All Characters lose all subtypes and gain the Demon subtype.
-All Characters gain an additional Poison 3
-All Characters gain +4/-4
-All Characters gain -3/-0
-For each character in play, put a 2/2 Artificial character under that character's owner's control

One of the 3 possibilities you chose happens.


"Im not sure the word 'inspired' is what I would've chosen to describe him…"


Basic idea is you can choose the random effects, its more of a risk management type thing. You have to choose 3 and the game pulls one effect from the three. Your choices can be made to approximate so that you'll probably benefit, just how much you benefit is random.

Title: Re: [CDC] You Will Be Assimilated
Post by: NatoPotato on November 28, 2017, 07:32:16 AM
Mortal Combat
( or  (
Cost 4
Target character you control and target character on the battlefield gain Frenzy until the combat step and enter combat.
If a character is killed this way the other gains +3/+3 for each combat survived.


Frenzy - If this Character takes damage in combat and both Characters survive, it enters combat with the same Character again. (

IE Duel but it's not limited to 3 battles(and also wont force 3 battles if both characters have 0 attack), essentially Fight! on steroids but the enemy can dodge it and the survivor (if there is one) gets a buff.

: Joke entry :
Title: Re: [CDC] You Will Be Assimilated
Post by: NTL on November 28, 2017, 11:10:17 AM
Name: Ayesha of the Holy Grace
Faction/Purity: 2 Overseers of Solace
Type:  Unique Character - Angel
Rarity: Epic
Cost: 3
Morale: 10
Attack/Health: 6/6
Rules Text:

Pay 4, Exhaust: Target Character on the Battlefield is shuffled back into their owners's deck,
if target was shuffled back, create copy of that Card in your hand.
While Ayesha is on the battlefield, your Champion has Untouchable.

Title: Re: [CDC] You Will Be Assimilated
Post by: mew28 on November 28, 2017, 11:27:28 PM
Nerf on my card
Title: Re: [CDC] You Will Be Assimilated
Post by: Number11 on November 29, 2017, 10:18:03 AM
Scorpion of Decay
1p SoA - Common
1 Cost
3 Morale
Character - Undead, Insectoid

Characters that enter combat with Scorpion of Decay become Poisoned, taking 1 damage at the end of each turn. The first time Scorpion of Decay enters combat with a Character, the opposing character is moved to the Support Zone and is exhausted at the beginning of the next turn. Neither Character takes combat damage as a result.

Title: Re: [CDC] You Will Be Assimilated
Post by: ToxicShadow on November 29, 2017, 09:02:13 PM
Purity: 1CoV
Cost: 5
Morale: 8
Type: Character - Human
Stats: 10/10

Battlemage may not enter the Support Zone once he enters the Battlefield. (He can still be moved to the Support Zone by other card effects).

At the end of the turn, if Battlemage is on the battlefield, he deals 4 damage to the character with the lowest health your opponent owns (this can hit multiple characters with the same health!).

When you deploy Battlemage, you may overcharge him with a FD or DoD card. If you choose a FD card, he gains +4/+0 and charge. If you choose a DoD card, he gains +0/+4 and vigilance.

After the fall of veroria, some cultists sold their services as mercenaries to learn about new ways of fighting.

Comment: The card i used as inspiration is Captain kurn, but i tried to make the 'being locked to the battlefield' - effect a bit more interesting than just having above average stats for its cost.
Title: Re: [CDC] You Will Be Assimilated
Post by: Benionin on December 04, 2017, 07:16:47 AM
Even though there was a forum outage, the deadline remains December 10th because there's still a week between then and now.
Title: Re: [CDC] You Will Be Assimilated
Post by: Benionin on December 11, 2017, 06:46:30 AM
Here lies the judgment.









Drumroll, please.

Congratulations to the winners and thank you all for participating. The decision was rather close for me--including some last minute changes just before posting--as there were so many cards that I liked.
Title: Re: [CDC] You Will Be Assimilated
Post by: Hiding on December 11, 2017, 09:34:48 AM
Here lies the judgment.
It's Q! A rather interesting purity combination that might render it unplayable, but the ability to choose (and see) what abilities could go off is a huge upgrade over Q. The demon-themed abilities are also on-point, but they have the side effect of making that last effect seem random. I'm torn between loving this card and how flavorful its purities are and hating the purity combo.

It's also worth mentioning that I loved your Gowron-inspired card.

TBH im not sure why they never went for Exiles GI, the Mad Scientist archetype would make for some cool card ideas.